European Space Agency

Overview Advanced Technology

ARTES Advanced Technology is dedicated to long term technological development of the satcom industry based on ESA's initiative. This element focuses on research and development of new technologies and techniques in telecom satellites, ground and user equipment for future or evolving satcom systems.

ARTES Advanced Technology is composed of the "Competitive Workplan"activities which are implemented on the basis of an annual workplan. This workplan is established based on the results of an annual Call for Ideas open to Participating States’ satellite industries, satellite operators, service providers, universities and research centres, national space agencies and to ESA employees.

A summary table for all planned ARTES AT workplan activities is available here for download to registered users residing within participating Member States. Please register your interest in planned activities using the "Advanced Technology Expression of Interest" form available for download here.


ARTES Advanced Technology activities are 100% funded by the ESA.

Who can participate?

Activities under ARTES Advanced Technology are only open to the industry of the Member States participating in this element.

Participating Member States in ARTES AT activities are

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Canada
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Luxembourg
  • The Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom

Authorisation from a participating Member State’s national delegation is required.